My Relationship with Breakfast

IMG_9345
Yesterdays Breakfast Pizza.
1 Egg
1/2 Cup Egg whites
2 Slices of Applegate uncured turkey bacon
3 Turkey Sausage Links
2 tbsp Quac
400 calories, 20 g fat, 3 carbs, 49 protein. Winning.

Not only is breakfast the most important meal of the day, but it is usually the most delicious. I’m pretty sure I start looking forward to my breakfast for the next day the second I finish my breakfast the day before. That or I’m just constantly thinking about food.
My breakfast choices have really evolved throughout the years. There was the special K strawberry cereal days, the smoothie days, the waffle with peanut butter and banana days (probably the best days), the oatmeal every god damn morning days (which I still linger in), or the straight up one piece of fruit I gotta go days. Now none of these are necessarily poor choices, but they hold a lot of useless carbs in them. I’m a big fan of healthy carbs. I would never hesitate to have some sweet potato with breakfast. Carbs are important to keep you fueled and energized, and I feel best when I’m sustaining my carb intake. I always went for the carbs first thing in the morning approach. There is nothing wrong with that, but I have recently been educated otherwise; so now I’m shooting for more evening/post workout carb intake. I typically would have little to no carbs for dinner, which is when I workout. I will talk more about timing your meals to go with your workouts another time, as I am still learning.
So breakfast. You have your common breakfast; eggs, bacon/sausage. Add some avocado in there and that sounds perfect to me. I personally love breakfast bowls, so much that I even make them for lunch sometimes.
IMG_8861
Spinach, a fried egg (or two), some breakfast sausage. Add avocado for healthy fats to start your day. There are a million things you can do with eggs. Eggs with lox. Eggs with avocado and lox. Frittatas. Omelets.
IMG_7810
Loved this omelet with veggies, corn, and beans(paleo).
IMG_8636

So I already went over overnight oats. You can find my current go-to recipe there. Or you can just make your oatmeal in the morning, if you like it hot. I add anywhere from a half to a whole banana, and a half or a whole tablespoon of nut butter. The nut butter is only added on occasion. Add any toppings. I always add cinnimon. Raisons are perfect (my stomach doesn’t digest them well). Blueberries are good too. I also add egg whites to my oatmeal. You can’t have a meal without protein…it’s just awkward.
IMG_9012
Egg white oats, cinnamon, 1 whole medium banana, 1/2 tablespoon of almond butter. Paleo

Then there is breakfasts that I make when I’m ridiculously hung over. It doesn’t happen often, but we all have those days. My breakfast quesadilla is no where close to paleo nor is it exactly “clean”. But it’s not dirty.
IMG_8335
1 Rudi’s gluten free tortilla wrap. 2 eggs scrambled. Turkey bacon or sausage. I added Daiya gluten & dairy free cheese. I’ve made them recently with no cheese, to stay away from products that are too processed. The bacon makes it greasy, so if you’re looking for the McDonalds sausage mcgriddle replacement to your hung over mornings, it almost barely is as good. Which is saying something. Yum. My second go-to for a hungover morning is sweet potato pancakes. Those are too good to not make a separate blog about, so you’ll have to wait. My breakfast muffins recipe will also be coming soon.

Moving on: Frittata’s. I make frittata’s all the time. They are delicious, simple, and great for a weeks worth of on the go breakfasts and snacks. All you need is a pan of your choice. The amount of ingredients will vary if you have a smaller pan. Below is a little video.

Original Video – More videos at TinyPic
1 dozen eggs
3 cups veggies of your choice
(I used Broccoli, Tomato’s, Peppers, Onions, Mushrooms)
Salt & Pepper to taste.
IMG_8110

And last; Egg White Wraps:
hi
3 tbsp of egg whites. Cook it like a pancake. Make sure its cooked enough to flip and not ruin it (lesson learned from attempt number one). Use it as a wrap. Put whatever you’d like in it. Lox & Avocado is a prime choice. Make more than one, I’m pretty sure 3 tbsp of egg whites is like negative 20 calories anyway.

3 thoughts on “My Relationship with Breakfast

  1. Pingback: My Relationship with Breakfast part 2 | S&*%...I Cook Too Much

Leave a Reply

