Overcoming Laziness.

“Laziness is nothing more than the habit of resting before you get tired.”
-Jules Renard

I stumbled upon this quote at the perfect time today. I was exhausted and wasn’t going to go workout. I figured I’d just run, but I don’t always hold myself accountable. I was truly feeling lazy, and that was that. I saw that quote and it made me immediately rethink missing out on the WOD. I wasn’t dying, I didn’t have anything better to do, and at the end of the day being at the box is my favorite part of my day. I will also be at the beach this weekend celebrating the holidays. There will be very little working out. I figured I can work hard this week and “play hard” as they say, and relax, this weekend. Usually, if I was that tired, I wouldn’t push myself too hard to go. With how I’ve been working out, I’ve been able to really get to know how far I can push my body. I take my rest days when I feel I need them. They are unplanned, and it has truly helped my performance in the gym. I know you don’t always have to be (and it is almost impossible to be) 100% during a workout. I feel myself slowly getting better after each rest day I take. Many people outside the gym ask me how many days a week I go to Crossfit. I will WOD five times a week. One day a week I reserve for a 3-5 mile run. One day a week I will rest. Sometimes two. I used to WOD 5 days in a row and I’d feel myself getting exhausted by the end of that week. Lately I’ve been taking a day in the middle of that to recuperate and come back and finish strong at the end of the week. I know I’m talking like I’m some Olympic athlete. I’m nowhere near elite, but if you are a Crossfitter, you know how seriously it is sometimes taken. Yes, it’s always fun. But to everyone it isn’t just a workout. We aren’t there to burn calories, we’re there to kick each others asses, and more importantly cheer on the last ass that’s working. It’s a sport, an escape, a social part of our lives. We eat sleep and breathe crossfit. Everyone looks forward to that hour or so spent at the box. If two days pass and I haven’t hook griped a barbell or felt like I was dying… I start feeling like Lindsey Lohan in rehab. I get withdrawal.

What I am trying to say is…Sometimes the best workouts are when you don’t want to do them. Not because they are extremely hard, but because you thought that you couldn’t do it. You thought you were too tired. And after that workout… you proved yourself wrong. Proving yourself wrong is like crack to crossfitters (and people in general). I can’t RX this workout. I can’t lift…I’m a girl …Yeah, you can. You said screw you to your inner lazy asshole who wanted you to stay on the couch and watch Dexter for 5 hours (that’s what I would have done).

ahhheloo
Lia and I doing the damn thing.

So, I’m sitting here watching Dexter. I pushed through that workout earlier, and NOW I can sit on my ass all night. Solid. I ate a banana with a littttle too much almond butter… I’m starting the whole life challenge next week and Justins almond butter is not whole 30 approved people. Therefore; I have to get rid of it. Anyone else use that excuse?

eat-all-the-junk-food-ecard

Nope? Just me? …Okay.

3 thoughts on “Overcoming Laziness.

Leave a comment