Now this is a Ramble

Okay so where did we leave off… something boring about egg whites and microwaves. I haven’t blogged in a while. I have two excuses. One, I’ve been ridiculously busy. I like it. And two, I’ve been having really bad wrist pain. I don’t like it. I’ve always had bad wrists, but they’ve been acting up. My doctor said something that helps is less time on the phone and computer, so I’ve been neglecting both, kinda. If I don’t text you back it’s not personal, my wrist hurts.
Another thing, I’m exactly one week into the Whole Life Challenge. I’m doing really well, I’m actually surprised. I thought it was going to be tough to not eat any nuts or nut butters, and cut back on fruit, but its been going smoothly. I’ve been upping my calories, and that’s where things are getting better. My energy is better, including during my workouts. I don’t have that mid day sluggish need for a nap. I’m digesting perfectly, which has been a problem with me for the past couple months. I feel really really good. I know it’s crazy to say after only a week, but I feel like I’m already starting to see results. I’ve also been getting some PR’s at Crossfit. The weekend after the fourth of July, I did a few unassisted pull ups in each round of the workout.
1014083_617080268316350_2101050599_n
I completed the regional wod with 135# squat cleans. It was a tough one. A different curse word was screamed for each squat clean but, I finished.
1002448_619924128031964_1605422564_n
I also PR’d my backsquat at 235#. And this morning I turned my one rep max deadlift into my three rep max; 260#. PUMPED! I think it all has to do with how well I’m eating. Also, how awesome my coaches are (shoutout). When I got back from the beach I couldn’t wait to start the whole life challenge. Amy and I are doing it together. We prep our meals every Monday together, and constantly text each other about what we’re eating, when we’re eating it, and why we’re eating it. We’ll also send eachother pictures of what we’re eating, or in my case, I’ll send her pictures like these:
hay
Because I’m weird.
These are some pictures from the beach; Amy is the one in the middle, hey girl hey.
1002113_1954897071978_1078381355_n
All you can eat Maryland crabs. The best of the best.
1005918_1955543088128_2139940133_n
A beautiful run on the beach.
IMG_4127
Last but most certainly not least. Margaritas.
IMG_6112
It was a great weekend. Me and Amy both finished off a full bag of Old Bay potato chips, in honor of the start of our whole life challenge. That was fun. Last weekend was also a good one. One of the coaches at Syndicate, Jess, plays on the Baltimore Charm football team. She’s a beast, and she kicked some serious ass. Most of the gym showed up. I’m really glad I went to support her! It also gave us all time to jam out in the car to the new Jay Z album. That shit cray. (ha…)
995711_1960336207953_2142525992_n
998356_1963062276103_895248814_n
And the rest of the weekend was dinner with grandma and the Crossfit Syndicate one year anniversary picnic. (So many pictures, I know, but I love pictures.) At dinner I ordered steak & a sweet potato. Something I eat anyway, but for some reason it was amazing. Sunday, at the picnic, there was some amazing food. BBQ Chicken, brisket, a million paleo desserts. I was bummed I couldn’t try them, but they looked amazing. I attempted to make a Paleomg recipe for Magic Brownie Bars. I tasted a corner of them when they came out, but everyone said they were delicious. I’ll post the pictures, and the link to the recipe underneath. I tried to double the recipe, I think next time I’ll just…not…do that. So they can turn out better.
IMG_4506
(I wish this food processor was mine…totally borrowed it.)
IMG_1779
Before…
IMG_8861
…and after. Mine did not look like this. Someone mentioned at the picnic that they looked like onion brownies. I can’t say I disagree. After the picnic a few of us went back to my house to swim. That was so fun! Crossfit pool parties need to be a weekly thing. I’m thinking yes. Especially in this heat. I nearly died in the workout yesterday, luckily I finally woke up for the 6 am workouts today. (Maddie threatened me…) Felt so good to get up and get through a workout that early. I might turn into a 6 am regular. Though the comradery of the evening classes is what really gets me hooked.
IMG_9686
So after I just bullshitted through paragraphs and pictures of things people don’t exactly want to read about…I’ll talk about food. Nutrition. Diet. Health. Whatever you want to call it. I’ve been shooting for 50 g protein in each meal. Instead of 4 oz of protein with a meal, I’ll go for around 6. Depending on the meat I am eating. This gives me higher calories, higher protein, and an all around filling and fueling meal. I’m eating more, but I feel skinnier. Wait I’m sorry, skinny isn’t in anymore. Stronger. I feel stronger. I eat most of my carbs post workout. I used to be the opposite, though I still make sure I get a good enough carb source with my “pre workout meal”. I just operate better that way, it works for me. My other meals consist of healthy fats and proteins. I started this blog because I was chefing up a storm…but now my meals are honestly pretty plain. For example, this dinner I had.
IMG_9664
Is it pretty? No. Is it instagram worthy? Nope. But it is what it is. Protein, fats, carbs. This was a dinner I had after a workout. It was the end of the week… so it was pretty much all my scraps from meal prep. This was my post workout breakfast this morning:
IMG_8508
Italian turkey sausage. 1 Egg, 1 Egg White. 1 Medium sweet potato. 1/4 Avocado. It was large, and I was starving. Heavy deadlifts will do that to you. I’m already hungry again. It’s 10:45 in the morning and I’m about to eat Tilapia. GROSS. But also, yum.
IMG_9661
This was a lunch last week. Loved it. 6 oz Tilapia. Guac & Asparagus. It was absolute perfection. But…my wrist is starting to hurt so I’m going to call it a day. Definitely doing a post on my obsession with Lamburgers this week. Stay tuned for that, and prepare yourself for amazingness if you decide to buy those Lamburgers from Roots Market. I’m not even going to edit this post… so I hope you enjoyed my spelling & grammer mistakes and my week in review.

Leave a Reply

