Running on the Treadmill and Only Eating Salad

Oh Drake, you knew me so well. So I’m sure the first thing everyone thinks of when they hear the words “healthy” and “diet” are salads. Salad used to be my answer to everything. Did I eat a little too many calories that day? It’s fine, I’ll have a salad for dinner. First date? Salad. There’s nothing more funny than hearing someone say “I’ll have a salad”. I actually laugh at myself when I say the word salad. There’s something about it that sounds so…posh? Like… Clay Mathews just ordered a salad:
tumblr_lujjt5LN1v1qfodbzo1_400
Hairflip. And when you have salad for dinner, it can be a big salad. I’m talking a huge pool of lettuce. You’d have to try really hard to make a 200 calorie salad with just lettuce. How much salad can you eat before you get stuffed?
tumblr_mct46ozKKr1ql3axr
Go ahead, ladies. Gorge yourself on some leaves. Right. I mean, what else is as low calorie as 4 cups of mixed greens? Besides celery. Don’t even get me started on celery. I’m pretty sure people still think that if they eat celery with peanut butter, the celery will lower the calories of peanut butter. So it’s like you’re eating nothing, right? True, girl, true.
I’m not sure why I’m picking on salads in the first place…maybe it’s because I ate them consistently for four years and I became tired of it. I’d literally run on the treadmill for awhile, come home, and eat a salad. For lunch, for dinner, maybe even for dessert. You aren’t getting nearly enough nutrients that way. I think I slightly remember being hungry a lot more often. I also have a new view of food. Now I see how nutritionally dense my romaine salads with little vegetables and sugar filled dressings were. A lot of people just pour some light ranch on their salad, load it with croutons, some cheese, and call it a day. But it’s a salad…? Nope…No. That’s not a salad, that’s a warzone.
pauad-meme-generator-excuse-me-wtf-is-this-shit-3ae845_u18chan
Right there with ya, gramps. I’d say the perfect salad has a decent amount of veggies on them. Broccoli, peppers, onions, carrots, zucchini, cauliflower, mushrooms, I’m gonna stop now. Pay close attention to the ingredients (sugar!) in your salad dressings. There is a good amount of dressings sold at natural markets that are in the safe zone, but I would personally stick with olive oil, balsamic, salt and pepper. A little plain, but fresh, and good for you. Add anywhere from 4-8 ounces of meat, depending on your nutritional needs. Protein. A salad without protein is a wasted meal. If you don’t like meat, add a hard boiled egg. If you don’t like eggs, I don’t know what else to tell you. Just don’t add soy. (I recently learned all the shitty things about soy, thanks to CF Syndicate’s blog)
So I’ve been going through this phase where I haven’t been eating salads. I haven’t tried not too, I just haven’t wanted one. With my previous digestive issues, a lot of leafy greens were not agreeing with my stomach, but that has calmed down now. Which led me to todays salad. Which also led me to todays salad dressing. I stated before that you should use olive oil as a dressing, but that does get so ridiculously boring after awhile. Your lettuce leaves actually start to taste like leaves. You need variety. It’s human, it’s fine. Let’s add some variety.
My New & Improved Salad Dressing:
6 tablespoons Olive Oil
5 teaspoons balsamic vinigeretee
5 teaspoons raw coconut milk
Do your thing with these last three:
About 5 “sprinkles” of Mrs. Dash Italian Blend
Sprinkle of Salt
Sprinkle of Pepper

Makes about 5-6 servings
IMG_9762
So it’s nothing fancy. But it was so delicious. I put a tablespoon of my salad dressing on my salad today, and I was very happy. Now I know I said to add a lot of veggies to your salad but, today I didn’t. I’m supposed to start slow with all the raw roughage.
IMG_9764
My salad was 4 cups of mixed spring greens, 5 oz Chicken Breast, 1 Hard Boiled Egg, 2 Small Tomatos, and the Dressing. I also had 3 oz sweet potato on the side. We’re front squatting today. Carb me.

One thought on “Running on the Treadmill and Only Eating Salad

  1. Pingback: The Six Random Pieces of Advice – Food, Gains & Life | S&*%...I Cook Too Much

Leave a Reply

