Snack Attack

So last week a little something happened to me that I like to call a snack attack. I’m completely fine talking about my “snack attacks” because I know that we all have those moments. It’s those moments where you are bored, stressed, really excited, or lazy. You’re so hungry that you sure as hell do not want to settle for a cup of broccoli and some salmon. It’s that stupid kind of hungry where you want the good stuff. You want the snacks. I was rummaging through my fridge because…
IMG_2959
…I wanted something delicious, but I didn’t want to cook, and I didn’t want to cheat on my diet. So what exactly does a snack even mean these days? There are a few different opinions about what a snack really is. Is your snack a bag of chips? A ho-ho? A honey bun? Donuts? That drenched in sugar protein bar you picked up from the gas station? Or are you super trendy and go for things like, celery sticks and peanut butter, frozen yogurt (plus all those healthy brownie toppings).
IMG_6817
I was watching Princesses of Long Island on Bravo the other day. LOVE that show, it is such a train wreck, and reminds me that I’m stable. Perfect. Anyways, two girls were shopping (cardio) and they talked about frozen yogurt. In all seriousness the younger sister starts explaining why they should get frozen yogurt. Main reason being she heard frozen yogurt naturally makes you lose weight. It was hilarious, I was laughing. Frozen yogurt is delicious but come on girlfriend. Another trendy snack; Diet Coke.
2973533ccb7586602e0b13c0621458c8
Have you ever really listened to the sentence “I’ll have a diet” when people order their beloved diet coke? Oh, you want a diet? Here’s some lettuce, no need to tip.
Snacks are really confusing to me. I don’t even exactly have “snacks” anymore. My snack is a cup of veggies and 5 oz of chicken. The closest thing I get to a snack these days is a Lara bar. And when I eat those, the sky opens up and the sun starts shining. So obviously I’ve been feeling a little snack deprived…
larabar-giveaway
So if you’re like me and you, one, enjoy the paleo, clean eating, lifestyle. Two, are trying to lose weight body fat percentage. Or three, have a serious gluten & dairy intolerance. I am here to help you.
still-of-ben-stiller-in-heavyweights
As I said before, I’ve kinda been lacking in the snacks department. With the results I am trying to achieve and the way I am striving to eat, my “snacks” look almost identical to what my “meals” look like. I’m not always this strict. I went through this phase when I first got “diagnosed” with a gluten and dairy intolerance where I ate every gluten/dairy free dessert product in the books. That’s where I went wrong. I for some reason thought those products couldn’t do as much harm to my body because they were simply labeled “organic” or “gluten free”. Maybe if I was trying to maintain my weight, these snacks would be okay in moderation. I was trying to lose, but I was gaining. My head was not in the game. My friend Amber and I would come home from crossfit and make jokes about how we were eating like we were bulking. “It’s fine I’m bulking *hairflip*” Who are we?
IMG_8075
Cashew butter and enjoy life “chocolate” chips. Not a bad snack, in moderation, not every night. I was eating Organic Coconut Bliss ice cream and Almond Dreams ice cream bites. Gluten free cereal. And probably too much nut butter. I had been strict paleo for two months and obviously went a little cray cray after I stopped. Now I think I have it a little under control.
IMG_6719
This was my first ever paleo lunch, back in December. I had absolutely no idea what I was doing or what to eat because I felt like anything I currently had was not on the paleo checklist. This isn’t exactly a bad meal. It’s just funny to look at what I was eating when I first started. It’d make a great snack.
IMG_9993
Back to this snack attack I was supposed to be talking about. Pictured above is the remnants of my so called snack attack. I can give a big thank you to my food intolerances that save me from going to Wendy’s or Krispy Kreme with my brother. I was craving chips. I didn’t just want guacamole, I wanted to dip some friggin chips in some friggin guac. Ya know? But I couldn’t. So I finished off the guacamole with the rest of the carrot sticks and the rest of the mango slices in my refrigerator. I had a lara bar, and some cashews. Why did I just lie and say some? I had a lot of cashews. It happened and I was over it. Could have been worse. Could have had two lara bars (Still wouldn’t have been mad). But in the end of the day I was kinda annoyed at myself for not just making dinner and being content with that. So I realized I needed to make some moves and get creative with my “Whole Life Challenge” approved snacks.

Question 1: What the hell can I eat guacamole with that doesn’t involve being placed on top of meat or eaten with carrot sticks? Okay, so I want guacamole. But I need some protein regardless. What’s protein that isn’t meat? Eggs. Okay eggs. Hard boiled eggs. Perfect.
IMG_0128
I removed most of my yolks from my eggs and replaced them with guacamole. It’s consistency is very similar to deviled eggs, which I love. And you can’t go wrong with guacamole. It packs little protein, so yeah maybe I had some chicken on the side. But you still get a great, healthy, meal out of this. Or snack, I should say.

Question 2: I want chips. No this isn’t a question, it’s a statement. Every now and then, we want chips. This is no new and improved recipe, but PLAINTAIN CHIPS. In my opinion, they taste better than potato chips.
IMG_0033
IMG_0034
IMG_0036
IMG_0038
-1 Medium Plaintain
-2 tbsp Coconut Oil (you may need more, depending on how much you’re cooking)
-Kosher Salt
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Cut your plantain into very thin slices. Melt 2 tbsp Coconut Oil. Put a thin layer of coconut oil on the plantain slice and place on your cooking sheet. Sprinkle desired salt on top of chips. Cook for 20-30 minutes. I dipped these in Guacamole. Delicious.

Question 4: What is something sweet I can eat that is still on my diet? So you don’t want to binge out on fruit, understandable. But it’s the only “sweet” thing you can currently eat. What if I told you egg whites were the answer? Would you believe me? Cause you should…
IMG_0081
I didn’t initially measure, but I’ll give it a go:
-3/4 Cup Egg Whites
-1/2 Medium Banana
-3/4 Cup (pitted) Cherries
-2 tbsp Almond Butter
-Cinnamon to taste
I first put my egg whites in a bowl and sprinkled them with cinnamon. I added the bananas and cherries, more cinnamon, and mixed together. I put the mixture in a frying pan until cooked. I then drizzled 1 tbsp of Almond Butter on the bottom of my bowl, and 1 tbsp on top. I don’t think I actually used the full 2 tbsp, but I give you permission to.

4ca9693c6221f3dcba21f967d801b5aa

2 thoughts on “Snack Attack

  1. Halp! I have never bought a plantain before – how do you know which to buy? Are they like bananas? Should you wait for them to ripen?

Leave a Reply

