Loaded Balsamic Chicken Pasta

I absolutely just cooked myself the best dinner I have ever eaten! I wish I wrote it down as I went… I waited till the end and hope I got it right!
Measure out 2 oz of Pasta, I used Gluten Free pasta! Start your water and bring it to a boil. Add pasta to water when it boils. Then I soaked about 6 oz of chicken in some balsamic, salt, onion powder, and Mrs. Dash. (See picture of seasonings below) Cook the chicken on medium.

20130910-201156.jpg

Seperately, cut up two medium sized tomatos. Pour one tablespoon of Olive Oil (I used Garlic Olive Oil from Roots…I recommend the garlic olive oil!) Add (close to but less than) 1 tablespoon of Balsamic, a sprinkle of salt, garlic nuggets, and onion powder. Put it on medium heat in a frying pan and let it simmer into more of a sauce consistency.

20130910-201229.jpg

20130910-201147.jpg
When your pasta is finished, strain and add it back into the sauce pan. Add your sauce to the sauce pan with the pasta.

20130910-201204.jpg

20130910-201221.jpg
Then sauté your vegetables. Mine were already cooked, so I just needed to heat them up. I added a small amount of all of the seasonings pictured to my veggies as well.

20130910-201234.jpg
Cut up your chicken and add it to the pasta & sauce. Once your veggies are cooked or heated, add them to the sauce pan as well. This way, your food is still cooking & heating, and soaking up all the different spices… YUM!

20130910-201136.jpg

20130910-201211.jpg
The finished product! Yes, it’s a huge bowl. This dinner was about 540 calories, 60 carbs, 45 protein, 14 fat, and 8 fiber. I like the look of those macros…especially after my day. I wasn’t able to eat much today at all. I ran, woded, and did some heavy deadlifts! I’ve been adding a LOT of cardio into my workouts. I take a cycling class once a week, run twice a week, and wod 2-3 times a week. I will sometimes go to our schools gym and do intervals or half hour runs on the treadmill or elliptical on days that I wod. Oh yeah…back to the machines. Ha..Ha… I’m trying to make sure that even though I’m adding so much cardio, that my strength is staying consistent. Yes, I want to lean out, but I sure as hell don’t want to lose my strength! I focused on strength all summer. I was PRing on a lot of things at crossfit. Not that I regret it, but I wasn’t focusing on my BODY and how it looked. I got to school and my clothes fit me funny… So Crossfit & cardio is the plan for now! I’ve been adding in little “treat” meals more often. My diet has been so strict for months that I am just worn out from being so concerned all the time. I’ve also been doing this for five years, its a lifestyle, and sometimes it isn’t going to be perfect. When I say treat meals, I don’t mean papa johns or oreos. (unfortunaly…) Treat meals, for example, this meal I posted above. There is nothing wrong with giving yourself some pasta, in moderation, every now and then. I also eat brown rice, quinoa, and rice cakes. Basically just more carbs…which might be OK since I’m doing so much cardio. So yeah, I’ve jumped off the paleo bandwagon a bit. I still base my diet off the paleo diet, with some small exceptions. SERIOUS obsession with rice cakes with peanut butter, banana, ground flax seeds for extra fiber. Peanut butter is another thing I havn’t been able to eat, and I can now. God has answered all of my prayers…
540571_235313806609624_2031278232_n

Leave a Reply

