Paleo ‘Egg Sandwich’ Pancakes

After a long weekend at OSU’s campus, there was only one thing I was craving, and that was pancakes. I had made these pancakes before and they are completely paleo, depending on your toppings & syrup of choice. This time around, I added some protein powder to the pancakes. The protein powder I use, in my opinion, is the cleanest and closest to paleo protein powder you can find. (Besides the paleo protein powder, of course)

20130930-144150.jpg

Paleo Egg Sandwich Pancakes

1.5 tbsp. Almond Flour
1 tbsp. Coconut Flour
3 Eggs (2 eggs in batter, 1 egg for the top)
1/3 cup egg whites (about)
1/2 Small Banana
2 tbsp. protein powder (optional; not paleo)
1 tbsp. agave nectar
2 tbsp. walden farms syrup (optional; zero calorie, but faileo)

20130930-144054.jpg

I mixed all the ingredients together, minus the 1 egg and syrup. I mushed the banana as much as possible, and wisked until the batter was smooth. Key word, smooth. This batter was not thick, but made amazing pancakes. It may help to put it in a blender, but it wasn’t necessary. I cooked my pancakes on medium heat, then cooked my last egg and put it right in the middle of the three pancakes. I pushed down and let the egg run all over, almost like it’s own syrup. I honestly barely needed the syrup, the yolk was perfect. But I mixed the two syrups together and poured it over my pancakes and DEVOURED.

404 Calories
20 g Fat
19 g Carbs
36 g Protein

(Recipe can accommodate to your own caloric needs)

One thought on “Paleo ‘Egg Sandwich’ Pancakes

  1. Pingback: My Relationship with Breakfast Part 3 | Yours Truly, Stef

Leave a Reply

